When Daylight Savings Time Ends

Daylight Savings Time began when I was little. One could never imagine how we kids felt the first time it went Daylight Savings Time and we could play outside til about 9 p.m. What freedom! What a life! To be able to play til the street lights came on was something unimaginable in 1966. I mean, how cool was that? I have loved Daylight Savings Time ever since. There is so much one can get done in the long summer days -full of hope to finish any and all projects started. Even when they weren’t finished, no  matter- one had all kinds of time the next day. Or at least, it seemed that way.

And then November came along , An abrupt end to my beloved Daylight Savings Time. Light in the morning was all right and all fine  but I’d rather have the sun come up as I get up or maybe a few minutes after and have all the light for the whole day and evening. I felt as  if  I could get more accomplished, I felt better- more sun always equals a better mood. In short- I felt alive. When November comes, however, it begins to get dark at 4:45 pm. Really? There is still so much time, but it doesn’t seem like it. It feels like the day ends when it gets dark. All that is left is to eat dinner and go to bed. Curl up with a  fire and a  good book, maybe. I just always want to sleep when it’s dark. I must be getting old or something. I don’t feel as happy in the winter because of the darkness. hi ho.

Some of my friends simply despise Daylight Savings Time and holler ” Leave the time the way God made it.” What? No, I’d rather have more sunshine and blue skies. Call me a Pollyanna if you must. (does that still apply in this day and age?) If it came to a vote today to keep the daylight hours longer, you can bet I’d vote for it! it’s weird isn’t it? They say appearances are not what they seem. They sure are, though when it comes to light and dark. And of that, you can be sure.

springing forward is just my style
springing forward is just my style
falling back- not so much
falling back- not so much
One thought on “When Daylight Savings Time Ends

Leave a Reply

