Another Sunday Rolls Around

Back in the day, I went to church and it was okay. It was never anything special until my husband, Stephen and I began going to The Gathering in downtown Dallas. The Gathering is a church for the “unhoused”. The homeless. The Gathering has changed our lives in so many ways. It has certainly changed the way I worship God and my attitude towards others.

The first time we went to The Gathering, it was the first or second week in September 2013. I admit I was a bit skeptical. No other church had really captured my heart. But, it wasn’t just the church I was skeptical of- I’d never been around “unhoused” people. I’d seen them on the street, sometimes hanging out by a 7-11 or similar store hoping to catch some change to get a cup of coffee or maybe even a meal. I  had never really spoken to any homeless people and like so many – I didn’t really even look at them- I had no money I could share and I didn’t want to feel guilty about not giving them anything.

That first Sunday we went to worship with the folks at The Gathering- well, it was just amazing- that’s the only word to describe it. The people, the folks I had never looked at, were welcoming, loving, grateful, happy and worshipped God with a fervor and an appreciation I’d never seen before. All at once, I was inspired to worship in the same way. I wanted the happiness and love they had found. I know what many are thinking- “they are happy, because they are addicts and/or mentally ill.” While some are addicts and some are mentally ill, that is not the happiness I’m talking about. It’s a high, but right then, that Sunday, it was a “high on God” I was witnessing.

My Sundays have been transformed from a “meh” kind of worship to an amazing kind of worship that lasts all week. I saw that even though many of the people worshipping have nothing, they are happy to worship with all their hearts each Sunday. This is what worship should be. God gives us the joy to worship Him this way. We just have to find it in order to do so.

I hope everyone has a place like The Gathering to call their own. There is no better feeling than to worship God on Sunday and have it last all week. Nothing better.

many unhoused people, much joy
many unhoused people, much joy
Father Charlie brings the sermon
Father Charlie brings the sermon
2 thoughts on “Another Sunday Rolls Around

  1. I know first hand what you’re speaking about. I spent some time living homeless on the street. It’s an experience that I now than God for having went through… it’s life changing. I’ve also worked as an outreach minister bringing the love of God to the homeless and poor… again, it’s life changing. There is something about loosing the material things of life that leaves you with nothing but your soul. Its a place that allows you to fully appreciate giving in earnest. Worship, true worship, starts when you reach that threshold. May God continue in your midst and allow His peace to be with you always.

    I’m including this link for your enjoyment. You’ll find stories from “The Blue Sky Cathedral”, the outreach I spoke of…

    http://mattmilamii.highcallingblogs.com/category/blue-sky-cathedral/

    Blessings

    Like

    1. Matt, thank you so much for writing this. Sometimes, I wondered if it was just me thinking that. It’s nice to have confirmation that what I am thinking is actually so on a big scale. I have honestly never seen folks worship in such a manner. I walk a little closer now myself. Thank you for the link. I’ve looked at it and will keep it on my list. thank you so much and may God bless you richly.

      Like

Leave a Reply

