Book Publishing, Here I Come

Previously, I had decided I was going to use the crowdfunding group, Indiegogo.com to help fund publishing my children’s book. I have revisited my plan and decided to just go forward with it myself- put my money into the things I need to- it won’t be much and publish my book. I’m very excited about it. I will be contributing some of the proceeds to Saving Carolina Dogs Rescue & Adoption Network. Because my dog, Jack, who is, after all , the star of my books is a Carolina Dog- a dingo. They are the ones responsible for me finding Jack.

My friend Amber had texted me one day saying that a girl in Garland, Texas had adopted a dog thought to be a Carolina Dog, but she couldn’t keep him and  asked if I could go pick him up. So, my husband and I did go and pick him up and it didn’t take long figure out he was something special. Admittedly, I didn’t know much about dingos, other than the Seinfeld episode in which Elaine says hatefully, “A dingo ate cha ba-a-by”

Turns out these dingos are pretty smart. They’ve come over from the Bering Strait long years ago and are as primitive as they can be. They are wonderful, fun-loving, fiercely loyal dogs who love their moms and dads like nobody’s business.

Jack surveying his kingdom.
Jack surveying his kingdom.

Jack is the star of his own book series, “Jack Learns…”  In his first adventure, a newly adopted Jack is bored and wants to learn what grilling is. His second adventure finds him trying to quit whining and his third-well, he learns about bullies. Jack tries to keep the peace with his brothers and sisters, although he and Buddy, one of our Pyrenes/Shepherd mixes used to get into it. They are very separate now! It’s scary business when they get into it . I hope you follow my adventures in publishing these books. They are special because they teach children things without the child really knowing it. One book I am looking forward to writing is the one in which Jack learns not all children learn in the same way. We all learn at different rates, in different ways and not one of those ways is wrong! I can’t wait to teach that to Jack. I am praying these books are as successful as I imagine them. I hope you will join me.

the red in his coat is striking.
the red in his coat is striking.

6 thoughts on “Book Publishing, Here I Come

Leave a Reply

