Painting and Crafts- Since When?

I have never had any artistic abilities, nor crafting… nor any talent in what could even loosely be called art. Not until about a year ago, after I switched churches and saw an episode of Steve Harvey. You may wonder what the two have in common. Well, nothing really, other than being pieces to the puzzle that is my creativity.

I used to freelance for The Williamson County Sun in Georgetown, Texas back in the late 90’s. That was my favorite job of all time. Man, could I write!  Little did I know that it was because I had bipolar disorder and was not on any medication for it. Once I got on medication, my creativity- captured in my words all but dried up. I left the Williamson County Sun when I decided to move back to Dallas.  I don’t want to get into a big hooha of all that, but suffice it to say that I couldn’t even do a word find in the newspaper after that.

In later years, my medication was shifted- I came off some of it and put on some others, changed churches and watched Steve Harvey and my creativity came back with a fervor I’ve yet to really understand. My husband and I began going to The Gathering- a church for the unhoused-but not homeless as they had the church. I began doing things for people less fortunate than I and loving it completely. I loved people I had previously thought were loveless and was being blessed all the while unknowingly.

My daughter, Amanda, had been in town for Christmas last year when we caught an episode of Steve Harvey, where a lady asked Steve why men don’t get abstract art. She brought her abstract with her and said she was asking $4000.00 for it. Steve was going to help her sell it. The painting wasn’t all that. I mean, I wouldn’t have it in my living room, but that’s neither here nor there. I looked at my daughter and said, ” I can do better than that and I can’t even paint. ” So, I got supplies and went to work. I began selling my paintings! What? I never could draw, never painted, always said I had no creative bones in my body and I had begun selling paintings! Weirdness. So, that is why i attribute it to loving my church, loving the people there and Steve Harvey.

I quit painting , though for a couple of months- just haven’t really painted anything I thought was worthwhile. But, my grand daughter loves art and likes doing it with me, so, the other night I painted a couple of things and posted them here. I was so surprised to find people reblogging  my art work and telling me they liked it. It, like the first thing I ever sold, blew me away. So, I painted two more projects and humbly submit them for your approval. Gosh! I sure wish I could get discovered because I love art so much now- I could do it for a living…. yep- that and writing and paper crafting. So, if anyone is out there and wants to discover me- thanks in advance!  While I say this in jest- wouldn’t it be so cool if it actually happened!

Fools Gold
Fools Gold
Luminous Remembrances
Luminous Remembrances
5 thoughts on “Painting and Crafts- Since When?

Leave a Reply

