Those Niggling Headaches

Here in Texas, there has been no sun, no warmth, no energy. One must have sun to have energy, dontcha know- the vitamin D and all. Well, we have not been much above the 40’s in a week or more and the days are dreary, dank, and gray. It is a fact that folks with bipolar disorder or other mental illnesses do rather poorly on these dreary days. Lots of psychologists and psychiatrists suggest using a light box so that the depression doesn’t worsen. There is even a name for winter depression- “seasonal affective disorder.” I just call it the “wintertime blues.” Yep- simple as that- a case of the blues.

Well, on days as dreary as the ones past , I tend to feel really tired and have very little energy. I have been coming home from work only to eat lunch and take a nap- a long nap. The problem today was when I woke after an hour or so , I had one of those niggling headaches. You know those headaches- not a full blown headache, but one that is barely there- pain , but just enough to make one mad. It’s annoying, frustrating and aggravating. With a full blown headache, one can take an aspirin, ibuprofen, or some other type of pain pill. With the niggling headache, the choice is a little harder- should I take an ibuprofen or acetaminiphen or just let it run its course? Most of the time, I try to let it run it’s course, but it sure does aggravate me. I don’t know why it makes me so angry. Probably because it doesn’t seem to have the gumption to be a full blown headache. Just a baby one-there to ruin my day. Well, too bad little headache! I won’t let you do it! I won’t let you ruin my day. It’s bad enough it affects me for an hour or so.

I have to admit- not too many things aggravate me-anymore. I used to be quite the hothead. Runs in the family, I always say. Heh heh. In actual fact, it could be- could be, I 6a010535d58d31970b0120a902d847970b-320wisay- the fact that I was a spoiled little girl. There, I said it and I will probably never say it again! I am sure, though, my husband Stephen, is happy I have mellowed out in my old age. I have to say I am glad too. My blood pressure was sky high during those rants and raves. Have you ever had the occasion to be ranting and raving and feel that vein in your neck pounding-popping out so the world can see it? It’s bad. Now, my temper is pretty much  on an even keel and all I had to do was age. How apropos! It can happen to you too! All it takes is a little bit of a wait!

Disclaimer- it may take longer than you think!

Leave a Reply

