Blogiversary | Guest Post by Jacqueline Smith – The Publishing Experience

Jackie is the reason my book will be published this month! She is an awesome person and author!

Stories Unfolded

THE PUBLISHING EXPERIENCE

GUEST POST BY JACQUELINE SMITH

When I first decided I wanted to publish Cemetery Tours, I had no idea how I planned to go about doing so.  First, I thought about pursuing the traditional route: query agents, sign contracts with the big publishing houses, etc.  For a while, that sounded like the way to go.  After all, I knew nothing about copyright, barcodes, ISBN, or how I could turn my piddly little manuscript into, you know, a real BOOK.  The whole idea was actually really overwhelming.

But then I did a little research. I went to the library and read every book I could find on publishing.  I met up with a friend who had independently published his own novel and who also happens to be a lawyer.  He gave me a run down of all the pros and cons of independent publishing.  The cons being…

View original post 717 more words

Leave a Reply

