Mothers and Daughters

I was the black sheep of the family. No, I was! If my mother said yes, I said no-if she said go, I said stop. I was strong willed, sometimes hateful, sometimes loving. To me, my mother was everything, but admitting that, especially in my teenage years was like pulling teeth. I’d sooner cut off

My Mother during a trip to the Holy Land
My Mother during a trip to the Holy Land

my nose to spite my face than do what I was told.

But, a mother-daughter relationship is a difficult thing at times. Even in the early years of a girls life, there is competition for the affection of the dad. A young girl sees her mom as competition, just like a young boy sees his dad as competition. But, that is a normal and essential part of growing up.

Although I loved my mom, there were times I told her I hated her. How those words must have cut her like a knife. I never meant it, but if she hurt me, I wanted to hurt her back.

It wasn’t until I had kids when I decided my mother knew just about everything there was to know about raising them. No, I didn’t necessarily want to raise mine as she did, but there were some aspects of what she taught my sisters and I that I wanted to keep, some I didn’t. She wasn’t always supportive of the things I let my kids do-for example,I let Micah grow his hair as long as he wanted to when he was 9. He had the most beautiful blonde hair that flowed to his mid-back. My mother, being a hairdresser, thought that was a bit much. I had my reasons for letting him control his hair. She didn’t understand them. That’s okay. We lived through it.

I did  a lot of things she didn’t understand and she did things I didn’t get at all. But, she was my mother. It was okay for me to badmouth her at times, but nobody else better try.

Mother’s Days were always special for me because she was special. She was funny, full of life, loved to laugh , always worried. She worked hard for her family to give us whatever we wanted or needed. She took extraordinary care of my dad who suffered through his own ordeals. She was by his side when he died. Even with all his troubles, she loved him more than anything -except maybe his children.

My  mother is no longer on this earth , but she is still is still with me. Sometimes when I laugh, I hear hers, sometimes when I say something, it’s her voice I hear-it’s her words coming out of my mouth. I smile  to myself each time it happens. I am so happy she is with me in this way.

My mother told me when her mom passed away, she called for her mother. My mother called for her mother too. I will call for my mother to guide me Home,too because a mother is a the closest thing to an angel  there is.

I love you Mother. Happy Mother’s day!

2 thoughts on “Mothers and Daughters

Leave a Reply

