Novel or Novellas?

I have been working on my book, “The Conservative Congregant” here lately . As it stands just now, it is quite the novella. My dilemna is just this- do I want to leave it as is, a novella? Or should I flesh it out a bit more so that it is a full fledged novel?

What in the world should I do?
What in the world should I do?

Now, I’m just thinking out loud on paper , but these are some of my ideas. If I leave it as a novella, there is the distinct possibility that more will follow as a series. There are many pros to this idea, for example, I already have a sequel in my head. I could conceivably write a prequel to the whole series and then add more stories to it.

Or…. I could flesh out the novella out a bit, add more here, there and yon so that it can grow up to be a 50,000 word novel.  The pro- there will still be a sequel. The con-I’m afraid if I add more to what it is now, the flavor, theme, meaning will be lost.

If you have a thought , an idea or even an opinion, please reply. I’d love to know what others think.

Thanks for letting me air my thoughts and for reading it! I may have worked it out.

Leave a Reply

