Resolving Not to Resolve

The new year always begs the question, “Are you making any resolutions this year?” While I am sure I could resolve to do something better, something more, something different, I choose not to.  I’m not trying to be a fuddy duddy or anything like that. I just haven’t made resolutions for a few years now because I don’t want to promise to do something better, or more, or different and then disappoint myself when it doesn’t come to pass.

I mean, for me, to announce a resolution and not follow through is, well, not the end of the world as we know it, rather, a disappointment to myself. It may even be a bit of an embarrassment should I not follow through.

Once a friend told me “promises are made to be broken.” But, I don’t want to live like that. I don’t want to make a promise or have a promise made to me only to have it broken. No.  Instead, I prefer to ring in the new year in a quiet way- at home, in front of the television, rocking out with Ryan Seacrest and the guys on the New Year Special.

I hope you are ringing in the new year in a way that suits you and if you should make a resolution, I’d love to hear about it. I wish you all the very best in the coming new year.

Cheers!

 

4 thoughts on “Resolving Not to Resolve

Leave a Reply

