Calming My Mind

We have a dog who can climb the fence. Seriously, a chain link fence! So, last night, my husband and I began working on a new fence for her. As we worked, sharing the drill and putting these little clamp thingies to connect the fencing, I found myself occasionally getting frustrated with my husband’s directions. Sometimes, he just was not clear enough for me to understand what he wanted me to do.

As I stood holding the fencing close enough for him to put those little clamps on them, I began thinking it is kinda like dealing with God. I can only speak for myself, but you know, there are times that God wants to tell me something or lead me to something and I get frustrated because I can’t understand what He is telling me. Sometimes, He just doesn’t seem clear enough to me. Does that ever happen to you? I want to put a trumpet up to my ear and say, “Eh? What’dya say?”

images

So, while  my husband was giving  me instructions, I decided I’d just be still and try to listen harder to what he was trying to explain to me. To my surprise, I didn’t get mad, huff and puff at his direction or stomp off and say, “You do it, I have no idea what you are talking about.” I did, however, tell him I had no idea what he was saying, so could he explain it to me in a way I could understand. (Mind you, I’m not too handy with tools and building things and such as that). And he did. When I was able to understand, I was able to follow his direction.

And so it is with God. Instead of huffing and puffing, shaking a fist at Him, yelling all the while, I think I’ll try to just be still. I think I’ll try calmly telling Him I don’t understand what He wants me to do and could He tell me in a way that I would have no problem knowing exactly what He means. It helps to calm in any situation to avoid “brain junk.” You know  “brain junk”. It’s the stuff that jumbles up your thinking. So, next time I hear God knocking, I’ll calm my mind and let Him do the talking. I’ll  just sit and do the listening. In that way, I know I’ll be able to follow His direction.

One thought on “Calming My Mind

Leave a Reply

