And the Days Went By

Over the weekend, my class had it’s 40 year reunion. 40 years!!  Sadly, I was unable to attend, but I heard it went swimmingly well. The photos I’ve seen look like a good time was had by all .

So, while he was in town for the reunion, I had lunch with my old (and I don’t mean old ), but my long time friend, David Chenoweth. David and I have known each other almost all our lives, but have only lately become good friends. David is in the second row, second from left in this, my third grade photo. We didn’t hang with each other in school much because, well, David was a little on the mischievous side and my mother knew everyone in town. Literally. She was the town hairdresser and you know how people love to talk to their hairdressers. So, in an effort to stay out of trouble, I tended to steer clear of poor David. How I wish that wasn’t the case now. It wasn’t that I never got into trouble. That was just it. I got into trouble enough on my own. What really happened, though by steering clear, I missed out on who knows what opportunities.

I used to be the one who played it safe-you know, break up with the guy before he broke up with you, have one or two friends so that, at least I had a friend. Never have too many friends at once because that is when complications set in. Don’t try out for cheerleader  because someone might laugh at you. Don’t make people mad at you because they may never like you again. Stuff like that. Stuff some of us do as kids.

The closest I ever got to cheerleader was pep squad. By the time I was in high school, I hung out with the “freaks”. You know the ones, they smoked, grew their hair long and were most of the time stoned.  So, I didn’t care to be cheerleader then. Ah, but in Jr. High School, I would have given my eye teeth to cheer. To be on the football field and cheer those boys on while they made touchdown after touchdown, winning the game for us. I was just too scared to try out. No one’s fault but my own.

Anyway, kinda went off topic there for a minute, but the thing both David and I realized were the missed opportunities we had during our school years because we just weren’t equipped to know how to have the necessary what-ever-it-was to go out of our comfort zones and be more than just schoolmates, but to be friends with real depth.

I am so glad that we found each other on facebook and had that first lunch. He is truly a remarkable man and has become a good friend. What is it about one’s fifties that we become more adventurous than ever? I don’t know, but I’m glad it happens!  Encourage your kids to branch out, reach out and just try something during their young years. They may just remember it as the time of their lives!

Oh and by the way, I’m the first kid on the right hand side first row, next to the teacher!

12046818_10204474216165795_7838030119071630790_n

2 thoughts on “And the Days Went By

  1. It sure would have been nice to know then what we know now. So many fantastic people we just didn’t get to really know back then. It is great getting to know them now. You hit a lot of nails right on the heads here. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

